More about Scalers[EDITED]

Help and Tips on Particles, Scalers, Flash Widgits
Post Reply
DimitriX89
Sage Pixel
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:01 am

More about Scalers[EDITED]

Post by DimitriX89 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 8:13 am

//It turned out that single mesh id can contain an array of Scalers, reducing the need for mesh slots in combo scalers to only one. To do it, after ModelModifier key in scaler code, add several ModelMeshScaleRec keys, each numbered like ModelMeshScaleRec,ModelMeshScaleRec01,ModelMeshScaleRec02; then fill each of these keys with individual data including different node names and scale multipliers.
https://gyazo.com/494c21f6c94451e7c577a6d38d66cecb
// - scrap that

Well my initial hypothesis was wrong (I worked on the project that needed only subtle scaling and deceived myself into thinking it works) Sorry. I'll continue looking for better solution.
But here is something else that can help, even if it isnt exactly new info. By using Debug tabs, mesh indices can be "hacked" to go well beyond default 99. I'm speaking hundreds of thousands. Negative numbers work too: https://gyazo.com/9e260c564235e137b38936e776a25b4a Moreover, the mesh to contain the scaler can be specified from code. The minimum required Data items are Asset (input "null" keyword for unspecified mesh) and Index. This info is proven 100%, and I have working product made that way: http://www.imvu.com/shop/product.php?pr ... d=39144480
Last edited by DimitriX89 on Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:01 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Nums
Sage Pixel
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:43 pm

Re: Recent find about Scalers

Post by Nums » Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:50 pm

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong? When I add the ModelMeshScaleRec's in, it only recognizes the lowest one in the list..

(so in this case, only rtFoot is recognized)
https://gyazo.com/81ffd6c017b16e6e83c952be5563adab

I'm guessing I'm making my scalers differently than the way it's typically done

I use empty clothing to do mine.

DimitriX89
Sage Pixel
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:01 am

Re: Recent find about Scalers[EDIT: Might be wrong, requires more testing]

Post by DimitriX89 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:22 am

Double checking it right now. May be the wrong syntax on my end. Looks like I am conflating the results of several of my tests. At one point I bet that I've achieved that, but later got it wrong, since the scalers in my project were subtle. Sorry for wasting your time. I'll need more tests before determining the exact procedure

DimitriX89
Sage Pixel
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:01 am

Re: More about Scalers[EDITED]

Post by DimitriX89 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:03 am

Well, I apologise again for "fake news", needs more testing, maybe this other info will be more help. By using Debug tabs, mesh indices can be "hacked" to go well beyond default 99. I'm speaking hundreds of thousands. Negative numbers work too: https://gyazo.com/9e260c564235e137b38936e776a25b4a Moreover, the mesh to contain the scaler can be specified from code. The minimum required Data items are Asset (input "null" keyword for unspecified mesh) and Index. This info is proven 100%, and I have working product made that way: http://www.imvu.com/shop/product.php?pr ... d=39144480

Post Reply